Tags

, ,

horseploughLet the wealthy and great
Roll in splendour and state.
I envy them not I declare it.

I grow my own wheat,
I bake my own bread.
I weave my own cloth and I wear it.

I eat my own lamb
My own chickens and ham.
I shear my own fleece and I wear it.

I have lawns I have bowers
I have fruit I have flowers
The lark is my morning alarmer.

So my jolly boys now
Here’s God speed the plough.
Long life and success to the farmer.
(English 17th Century Poem – Anonymous.)

Plough Monday may have come and gone, but in doing so it marked the start of work in what was once the traditional agricultural calendar. The plough itself was blessed, and like us, some of you may have blessed implements which you use in your job or your household. Your elemental tools may have been rededicated and you may have reflected upon those tools which are your own mental/physical skills and strengths. We at Sang Rouge Terre Blanc offer our blessings to all of you, of whichever tradition or path, who are beginning another year of magickal work and worship. Blessed Be!

